Acceptance Day, or “My wife will have three kids in college.”

I can probably count on one hand the number of truly pivotal days in my life…. the day I met my wife, first day on the first real job, the births of my children, first (and thusfar, only,) day getting laid off, and today…. the day I was accepted to the PhD program at the University of North Texas (Learning Technologies).

Getting another degree was not in my plan. I finished my master’s degree at the Krannert Graduate School of Management at Purdue University on December 17, 1989. When I start class at UNT, on June 8, 2015 (one day after my younger daughter graduates from high school)  it will have been 9,305 days since I was a full-time student.  YIKES!

Boy, how the world has changed.  Instead of sitting for hours in a classroom, this program is 100% online.  Instead of collaborating over caffeine in the basement of a red brick building, I imagine we’ll be collaborating over caffeine while huddled around our laptops.

Beyond that, I’m not really sure what the next four to six years will bring.  But I’m excited.

 

About rondfw

Dad, Husband, Techie, Boilermaker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

